57th National Film Awards winner for the year 2009 were announced at by film maker Ramesh Sippy at Shastri Bhavan in New Delhi on September 15, 2010.

3 Idiots - Best Film for Wholesome Entertainment, Best Song

‘3 Idiots ‘ directed by Rajkumar Hirani starring Aamir Khan,Madhavan and Sharman Joshi was awarded Best Popular Film for providing wholesome entertainment . Swanand kirkire who earlier won a national award in 2007 for the penning the song 'Bande mein tha dum' for 'Lage Raho Munna Bhai' won the award of Best Lyricist for ' Behti Hawa Sa Tha Woh’

Paa- Best Actor, Best Supporting Actress, Best make-up

Amitabh Bachchanwho played the role of a 14 year old suffering from Progeria in ‘Paa’ won The Best Actor award . He had earlier won Best Actor award for 'Agneepath' and 'Black'

Arundhati Naag who played the role of grand mother to Amitabh Bachchan won the Best Supporting Actress award. While Chrisiten Tinsley and Ms. Dominie Till won the award for best make-up.

Dehli 6- Best Feature Film on National Integration, Best production design award

Dehli 6 directed by Rakeysh Om Prakash Mehra starring Abhishek Bachchan-Sonam Kapoor won The Nargis Dutt Award For Best Feature Film on National Integration . It also won the best production design award for Samir Chanda.

Dev-D – Best Music

The music composed by Amit Trivedi for the movie Dev D was awarded Best Music award

Lahore- Best Debut Director, Best Supporting Actor

Sanjay Puran Singh won award for the Best Debut Director for his film Lahore. Veteran Actor Farooq Sheikh won Best Supporting Actor award for his role in Lahore

Well Done Abba- Best Social film

Well Done Abba a political satire  directed by Shyam Benegal was chosen as the Best Social film

Abhomaan(Bengali): Best Director, Best Actress, Best editing , Best Bengali film

The Best Director award went to Rituparno Ghosh for his Bengali film Abhomaan. This is Rituparno's second national award for best director, the first one being for 'Utsab'.

Ananya Chatterjee was chosen as the Best Actress for her role in Abhomaan. It won awards for Best Editing for Arghyakamal Mitra. It was declared the Best Bengali film.

Kutti Srank(Malayalam)- Best Feature Film, Best screenplay (original), Best cinematography, Best costume design, Special Jury Award

Malayalam film Kutti Srank won the award in the Best Feature Film category, Special jury for : Sreekar Prasad(Editor), best costume designer award for Jayakumar as well as best cinematography and best screenplay (original) awards for Anjuli Shukla and P.F. Mathews-Harikrishna respectively.

Magadheera(Telugu)- Best Special Effects, Best Choreographer

K. Siva Shankar won the Best Choreographer of the year for socio-fantasy film Magadheera. Kamal Kannan won an award for Best Special Effects

So the Winners list is :

Best Film - Kutty Srank (malayalam)

Best Actor - Amitabh Bachchan for Paa

Best Actress: Ananya Chatterjee for Abohoman (Bengali)

Best Director: Rituparno Ghosh

Best Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment - 3 Idiots

Best Supporting Actor - Farooque Shaikh for Lahore

Best Supporting Actress - Arundhati Nag for Paa

Best Music: Amit Trivedi for Dev D

Best Lyrics - Swanand Kirkire - Behi hawa sa tha woh (3 Idiots)

Best male playback singer - Rupam Islam (Mahanagar@Kolkata (Bengali))

Best female Playback singer: Nilanjana Sarkar for 'Houseful'(Bengali)

Nargis Dutt award for Best film with social message: 'Delhi 6'

Special Jury Award: Sreekar Prasad(Editor)

Best Special Effects: Kamal Kannan for Magadheera (Telugu)

Best Choreographer: Best Choreographer for Magadheera (Telugu)

Best Feature Film (Bengali): Abohoman

Best Feature Film (Hindi): Paa

Best Feature Film (Marathi) – Natarang

Best Feature Film (Tamil)- Pasanga

Best Feature Film (Assamese)- Basundahara

Best Feature Film (Kannada)- Kanasemba Kudureyameri

Best Feature Film (Konkani)- Palatadcho Munis

Best background score- Illaiyaraja for ‘Kerala Verma Pazhassi Raja ‘

Best sound designer- ‘Resul Pookutty ‘ for ‘Kerala Verma Pazhassi Raja ‘

Best Audiography - Subash Sahu - Kaminey,‘Resul Pookutty ‘ for ‘Kerala Verma Pazhassi Raja ‘,Anup Dev (re-recordist of the final missed track) for "3 Idiots".

Best Editor - Sreekar Prasad for Kaminey, Kutty Srank, Kerala Varma Pazhassi Raja

Best Production Design - Sameer Chanda for Delhi 6

Best Children Film - Puttani Party(Kannada) and Kesu(Malayalam)

Best Child actor: Jiva and Anba Karasu

Best Camerawork: Anjali Shukla

Like it on Facebook, Tweet it or share this article on other bookmarking websites.

Comments (0)

There are no comments posted here yet